part ii of 500 days of summer review (aka things I forgot)

Look at this picture. Then back to me.

If you’ve seen 500 DoS, you’ll recognize this scene even though it appears shortly both times it does.  But if you look closely, you might notice that Joseph Gordon-Levitt’s/Tom’s shirt in this scene says, “love will tear us apart.”  That’s a small detail that I left out of last week’s review, and one I’ve absolutely loved ever since I noticed it when I was looking for a computer wallpaper.  It doesn’t actively contribute to the plot or move it along, but it adds a little ‘something’ to the overall tone of the movie and, at the risk of sounding like a hipster, a small ironic detail.

Another thing I wanted to talk about from 500 DoS was the expectations | reality scene.  How true is this?  In many situations, people find themselves imagining what should happen, or what they hope will happen, or even what they expect to happen.  But more seldom than not events actually do go from expectations TO reality.  And, in this instance, reality becomes the exact opposite of the expectations — Summer is not holding Tom’s hand or smiling and being flirty with him by the roof wall, but instead showing an engagement ring to her friend.

I could say more about it but I’m pretty exhausted, so I’ll just leave this short (for once!).

If you’ve seen this movie, what are some of your favorite scenes?  Least favorite?

Personally, one of my favorites is “I don’t know how to tell you this, but there’s a Chinese family in the bathroom” — the whole IKEA scene.  And, well, see my Part I for more favorites if you haven’t already.

Leave a Reply

