Harry Potter appreciation blog for life.

First of all, I’d like to apologize in advance for any weird typos I may make or strange thoughts that don’t make sense, I haven’t had any sleep since 5:30 last night, when I woke up from my coma-like slumber for good, so bear with me.

Back in October 2010, I made a post that involved Harry Potter and my love for the series and how much it meant to me and why and blah blah blah.  And now, I work two more shifts before leaving to go to Charity’s side of town to see the end of the Harry Potter franchise.  I don’t care if JKR writes more books (and I actually wish she wouldn’t), because it’s the end of the franchise as I know and want to remember the first generation at least.  It’s the end of my childhood, in a way.  Harry, Ron, and Hermione have all grown up  – it’s time for me to grow up, too.

After Thursday night/early Friday morning, there will be no more premieres to dress up to (and I still remember my first dressing-up – the midnight book release for Order of the Phoenix, and I still had my hair permed and teased it out so I REALLY looked like Hermione).  Ever since OotP I’ve gone to the midnight book releases and the midnight movie releases…and I can’t believe it’s coming to an end.   Do you know how much I will cry?  No, you probably don’t (unless you’re Charity).  And even though JKR said, “No matter if you return through the films or the books, Hogwarts will always be there to welcome you home,” (tear), it really won’t be the same.

It sounds so cliché and stupid and on tumblr a lot of people are really way too obsessive about the books (i.e., they take criticisms personally, feel they’re ‘one’ with JKR, all this crap), but for me, it really, really was and is more than just a book series.  It got me writing and actually taking pride in that writing.  Will I ever become a published author?  Eh, we’ll see.  But for now I can write things that will entertain people on free websites, and that’s enough for me.

As I discussed briefly in my Facebook post about it, I met some of my oldest friends through Harry Potter.  It taught me about finding my inner courage and even though I’m no Gryffindor and I’m not going to go fight an evil wizard one-on-one, I know now how to find that which is within myself to stand up for myself.  Hermione inspired me to be a better student.  Draco taught me that even your whiniest enemy can have struggles to match your own.  You have no idea how many times I’ve reread the first four books because I have no idea how many times I reread the first four books.

Prisoner of Azkaban is still my favorite – Remus Lupin, the Time-Turner, Sirius Black, Harry and Hermione riding Buckbeak – everything about it bumped it up to number one, with Half-Blood Prince at number two.  But the first one, Sorcerer’s Stone, has gotta be tied for favorite because it’s the one that started it all.  I didn’t know it was possible to get so attached to fictional characters until HP came along.  I thought it would be dumb and it was “for kids” (which apparently didn’t include 9-year-old me? o-kay, self) but I fell instantly in love.

So when I show up at the Rave in Lee Branch with a box of Kleenex in a schoolgirl outfit (Slytherin, baby) and MAYBE robes over it, you’ll know that I’m simultaneously excited and sad, glad it’s here and wishing it wouldn’t end, prepping for tears of all kinds and crying on Charity as I’m sure she’ll cry on me as per tradition.

Here’s to you, Harry, for making my life rich and an adventure (and thank you to The Road to El Dorado, from which I stole that line), and thank you JKR who, even though she kind of, uh, lost the thread a bit with the last book, brought this world to now Potter-fans and let us be friends with Harry, Ron, and Hermione just for a little while.

Mischief managed.

One thought on “Harry Potter appreciation blog for life.

  1. I understand what you mean! I didn’t watch the movies but I really love the books and it’s like diving into another world where you know everybody 🙂

Leave a Reply

