“my thoughts are stars I can’t fathom into constellations.”

I have been writing some again lately (figures, just in time to get busy with school, which I start the 21st…) and it’s been difficult.  It always is, to get back in the groove, but once you do, it’s hard to get out of it.  It’s always a bummer coming down from a writing streak, and I just don’t train myself enough to make myself write if I don’t really feel it nagging at me.  I need to work on that, but I’ve seen a quote from Alan Dean Foster that helped me to not feel so alone: “The thing all writers do best is find ways to avoid writing.”

What steel resolve, to be able to sit down and make oneself churn out words while their brain doesn’t want to cooperate!  But how many times did I do that in college?  Especially in high school?  I know I am capable of it, so what holds me back?  What makes this different from the other times?  Is it that nobody is there to hold me accountable but me, myself, and I?  Often, lately, it’s that I’m too tired to write when I have time at home, which makes for no conducive writing environment.

Everybody has a story to tell, but my hope is that I translate mine into something non-autobiographical enough to be still creative and have the desired reception, but with these real elements, events, feelings, traits still included… Natalie Goldberg says, “Writers end up writing about their obsessions.  Things that haunt them; things they can’t forget; stories they carry in their bodies waiting to be released.”

I guess I’ll try to do my best.  In any reality, the truth remains that there is always room for improvement and something to be said for going one’s own pace.

Leave a Reply

